The devil is in the detail of attempts to log Tasmanian forests

Tasmania, Australia © M & G Therin-Weise

What do the following have in common?

  • Easter Island
  • Grand Canyon
  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Serengeti National Park
  • Tasmanian Wilderness

They are all UNESCO World Heritage Sites. In order to be listed, a site must fulfil at least one of ten criteria. For example:

to be outstanding examples representing significant on-going ecological and biological processes in the evolution and development of terrestrial, fresh water, coastal and marine ecosystems and communities of plants and animals

There are currently 981 World Heritage Sites. If the Australian Government gets its way then by the end of this Sunday there will be 980. Continue reading